If My Life Is For Rent (Filler Piece)

I am writing this in to inform my readers (I hope I am not talking to myself, here) that, I have resolved to get out of this state of Writer’s Block that I have been stuck in for the better part of the last two months. For those of you who were enjoying the silence, I am sorry, but I don’t think you can enjoy that much longer.

 

When I started Law School, it was just to get a ‘professional degree’, which could also double up to a 5-year holiday. Not exactly how people generally view it, and with good reason. Now that I am inching towards the end of this journey, I am growing more and more nostalgic about my life before NUALS; about the person I was, about the people I used to know, about the world views that I held. So, essentially, although it did not come to be a 5 year vacation for me, it turned out to be a 5 year vacation from the person I used to be. And, I miss that person!

 

If there is one constant I like in my life, it is change. I have never really I had a place that I could truly call home. As I wrote that last sentence, I am reminded of the lyrics to the song ‘Life for Rent’ by Dido. The more I think about it, the more convinced I get that my life essentially is on rent and it definitely feels like I am close to packing up and leaving for my next destination.

 

The next important question would naturally be – Where to? Honestly, I don’t know. All I know is, for now, I need to get out. And in knowing that, I have to begrudgingly agree with the lady in And the Mountains Echoed, where she says; “It’s a funny thing… but people mostly have it backward. They think they live by what they want. But really, what guides them is what they’re afraid of. What they don’t want.”  I have always known what I ultimately want to do, but at each juncture in life, my choices constantly seem to be all about eliminating what I don’t want.

 

So, until I figure out my next destination and move on, I have decided to stop letting my clueless-ness stop me from updating this blog.

Leave a Reply

  • August 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • I, Me, Myself…

