On Your Birthday!

I am not the most pleasant company to have. Then it would seem only natural that people have called me an ‘Uptight Bitch’; some to my face, and others behind my back. It still hurts a tad bit and I end up contemplating how to be a better person. These contemplations last a while before I relapse into who I integrally am.

During one such contemplation, I sat down for dinner and was soon joined by a friend. Since I was still trying to judge just how much of an ‘uptight bitch’ I really am, I ended up asking my friend, ‘Do you think I am an uptight bitch?’

Maybe I was not prepared for anything more than a ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ (Who am I kidding! I wasn’t ready for anything more than a ‘No’!). His reaction caught me off-guard. His instinctive response was ‘Who said that to you?’ If you had been there, you would have been convinced that he was only waiting for a name so he could personally go beat up that person (Forgive me, but maybe time has indeed exaggerated my memory of the event).

That day, sitting right in front of me, I found something that I had yearned for most of my life ~ an older brother figure, who would beat up people who dare say anything to upset me. I am not saying that I crave for violence and look at it as a means to solve problems, but it is just nice to know that someone would do that for you, if and when the need arises.

Over the years, we have talked about most things under the sun, shared secrets, and kept each other’s secrets. I have come to rely on his inputs on what I write (Mostly because he points out those parts that he liked best that makes me feel like quite the accomplished writer already!). Moreover, life in a law-school only makes me miss him all the more!

So this piece is for him. So he knows that there is one more person on the planet who wishes him a long and fruitful life; so that when he eventually gets to this post, he shall have another reason to be grateful to have made it to his 21st (read – 22nd)! 🙂

🙂 “Happy Birthday!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • I, Me, Myself…

