My Experiments With My Hair!

Collages3

I have often had people tell me that, if you treat your hair well and it could be your greatest asset. However, for the most part of my life, I have never given heed to it. As far as I was concerned, hair was nothing but a mass of dead cells that kept increasing in size instead of simply withering away. No matter how much my mother tried to chide or taunt me, I remained unperturbed by either hair fall or dandruff.

At the beginning of 2009, I switched to Dove shampoo and conditioner, and that was the end of my hair problems! Now, as clichéd as it sounds, Dove was the answer to all my hair problems. I once read a person’s opinion about how clichés are sometimes more important than original lines; a cliché helps to put across the exact meaning the writer was trying to communicate, since its meaning has become clearer with repetition. A couple of days into using Dove, my hair had already become softer, shinier and stronger. There was also a marked fall in my hair fall problem. There were almost no knots at the end. Moreover, the conditioner left an amazing smell that lasted the entire day. I would go weeks together, without any contact with a comb. And so, my hair grew comfortably from ‘just below the ears’ to a 13 inch ponytail. My hair had never felt like such an important part of my life before!

In mid-2009

Around the end of that year, I came across this foundation called ‘Locks of Love’. It was a voluntary organisation that works to provide hair prosthetics to financially disadvantaged children with medical hair loss. The organisation stressed on the fact that losing their hair had resulted in serious loss of self-esteem and they tried to rebuild this self-worth and attempted to bring back a semblance of normalcy in the lives of these kids. They provided the option to donate money, your time, or 10 inches or more of your hair.

I wanted one of these children to experience the feeling of having hair that makes you feel like you are a Queen; like you are in control; like you are the most beautiful woman on the planet. And so, I started that Christmas vacation with a visit to the saloon. After repeatedly assuring my hairdresser that I had indeed thought through the entire process, I let him chop off my ponytail. He put it in a cover and handed it over to me.

Then I went on to do one of the bravest, wackiest things I have ever done in my life; I shaved off the remaining hair in support of all the children with cancer who had gone bald during the course of their chemotherapy and chose to remain bald. Honestly though, it wasn’t just that. I could pretend to be truly altruistic, but the major reason I went bald was for me. It was to help me appreciate what I had, to help me start afresh, to help me reassert my own existence.

The Bald Me

With its presence or its absence, my hair has helped me become the woman I am today, and no matter whatever length I choose to wear it, I am proud of it!

Comments
8 Responses to “My Experiments With My Hair!”
  1. Maya says:

    hmmmmmm …… a serious yet sincere effort….God bless you dear :)

  2. Ramadas p vaidyanathan says:

    i appreciate your act but yur justification is not healthy. helping the poor and sufferiers is a great task. for that we need a determined mind. you are very young. grow physically and mentally. you will find that sometims you are very much excited and act in that excited condition. before acting anything calm your mind and bring to the normal state. then act.

    • annajohn says:

      I did what I did, and I have not regretted it since.

      • Ramadas p vaidyanathan says:

        thats great. but my request is that one must sit first and then think then act. whateverr you are have done are great. calm your mind and then act. you will do still worth things for all. i really proud of you always.and my thoughts are almost that of you. i can see me in you in many things. pls act after learning.

      • annajohn says:

        I shall keep that in mind. :)

Leave a Reply

  • June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • I, Me, Myself…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 845 other followers

